"XP SP3 10% Faster than SP2 and 2x Faster Than Vista SP1" - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2007, 06:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: "XP SP3 10% Faster than SP2 and 2x Faster Than Vista SP1"

Installing Now...

Ill post screen shots After
__________________

__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 06:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: "XP SP3 10% Faster than SP2 and 2x Faster Than Vista SP1"

I Have finally installed it lol Took abit longer than the SP2 installer, Nothing new that i have spotted really.. Probably because it isnt finished, Havent had no trouble " Yet ".. Its began downloading updates for it allready aswell lol, Doesnt seem to be any Quicker at starting up or shutting down either.. I will check tomorrow for more Stuff. I Installed this on My rubbish PC which i aint Bothered about if it Packs up lol

This is the only thing i see Different lool, But yeah like Makaveli Said Wait for The Proper release of Service pack 3

Heres the System Properties Screenshot:

__________________

__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 07:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: "XP SP3 10% Faster than SP2 and 2x Faster Than Vista SP1"

they said 10% more performance in microsoft office, I'd be extremely surprised to see improved performance out of sp3 in other areas, since that would further hurt vista, and because I think its just all the hotfixes since sp2 plus a security feature or two rolled into a service pack in all likelihood.
macdawg is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: "XP SP3 10% Faster than SP2 and 2x Faster Than Vista SP1"

MS Office......performance?

ehh?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: "XP SP3 10% Faster than SP2 and 2x Faster Than Vista SP1"

LOL thats what I thought, why would I give a crap about office performance. First thing the article says is

"Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3), the update scheduled to release next year, runs Microsoft Corp.'s Office suite 10% faster than XP SP2, a performance testing software developer reported Friday."
macdawg is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: "XP SP3 10% Faster than SP2 and 2x Faster Than Vista SP1"

heh i had to install office 2k7 on a company machine today. Took 45 minutes for the installer to complete and thats after it froze about 10 times.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: "XP SP3 10% Faster than SP2 and 2x Faster Than Vista SP1"

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
heh i had to install office 2k7 on a company machine today. Took 45 minutes for the installer to complete and thats after it froze about 10 times.
PS CS3 installer takes way longer...
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.