Xp setup problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2005, 06:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default Xp setup problem

hi Im tryin to Install XP Pro on my computer. Im able to do the first part of setup but when it restarts, the computer wont go past the "press any key to continue" window. it stays there doing nutting and I know im not supposed to press anything there

any help is appreciated

brownboi79
__________________

brownboi79 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Default

Wait. . . is the disk in the drive???
__________________

phandentium is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

shade11 is right. Sounds like your cd is the first boot device and the cd is still in the cdrom drive. Right? If you atlered your Cmos to make the first bootable drive the CDrom fix that first back to the HD and you should be good to go.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

ok you were right. the cd was in the drive and the cmos were like you said. so i changed the settings on the cmos so the HD goes first. now i get a blank screen with the curson only
brownboi79 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

ok...start all over again. Reformat, reinstall and remember to take out the cd after setup has completed and needs the restart. Then you can reset your Cmos later!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 08:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I think there might be another problem. Usually after setup, and it says that, it will stay there for a few seconds and then proceed to the rest of the setup......
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I tried what you said RicoDirenzo and It worked so now i got the second part of setup running. thanx everybody for your help


brownboi79
brownboi79 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 01:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
I think there might be another problem. Usually after setup, and it says that, it will stay there for a few seconds and then proceed to the rest of the setup......
some computers will get stuck if you don't eject the cd and put it back in
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.