XP Service pack question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2006, 08:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default XP Service pack question

Guys someone told me that XP SP2 is buggy and has compatibility issues? Some told me that I should stay with SP1 since it is more stable? Is this true?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Not at all. At first when SP2 was released it had some issues but those have been resolved over the past year + it has been out. Plus with all the security issues with XP that are out there the only way to make sure your system doesnt get attacked is by updating to SP2 with all the patches. It wount allow you to get them all with only SP1.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigbaddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 156
Send a message via Yahoo to bigbaddog
Default

SP2 has been fixed-get it now-you won't regret it.
bigbaddog is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 11:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

If you have a slow PC, below 256MB RAM, then stay with SP1 for speed.

SP2 has security technologies built-in, such as firewall, auto-update, and antivirus monitoring. Sorry, MS doesnt include an antivirus
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default

ah ok now i know now ty for d replies ^_^
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.