XP Reinstall - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2006, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default XP Reinstall

I am doing a reinstall because of a previous problem:

Other Problem

and I started to install XP with my Windows XP with SP2 CD and everything was going fine until it got to the "Installing Devices" section and it would just hang at app. 70%. Not it's not frozen because the little squares in the bottom right corner are still flashing. But i've left it for over 3 hours and nothing happens.
__________________

trocker767 is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ya that means it is frozen. just because the little squares are flashing doesnt mean its not stuck on a file or something. check the disk for scratches and also try swapping the cd drive and see if that is the problem.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 04:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default

alright, i'll try my disc that i slipstreamed with SP2 aswell
trocker767 is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

also if its not a legit copy that could also be part of the problem.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Well i tried the disc that i slipstreamed with Sp2 and it hangs at the same point. And when i reboot it just boots up into the windows setup and if i try to "F8" it to get into the Os Choices menu all it has is XP and it goes into setup again. So is there anyways that i can bypass the setup to get back into XP so i can restart the install process, or am i basically screwed?
trocker767 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 03:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

switch your cd rom drive. also wipe your hdd with powermax (my signature) to clear up any bootsector issues. last run memtest to test your ram
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

If that still doesn't work, try using a HDD of like 2GB or something that can install XP and see if it works. If that still hangs, the problem is caused by the PC. So, we might need to give your system specs...like motherboard, video card, etc.
__________________

__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.