XP Professional OEM Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2005, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default XP Professional OEM Question

Ok, so i just finished building a new PC for my employer. They bought all the parts at my request at newegg.com.

When it was all complete and done. I found out that my employer had purchased the XP Professional OEM version. Knowing already that this version wouldn't allow me to format the Harddrive for the first time.
So i tried it anyway. And i was right.

"Windows XP can not find a hard disk please verify....blah, blah, blah"

Can someone just verify for me that I'm correct and must buy the retail full version of XP Professional to format the hard drive for OS installation.

By the way, i already used the Seagate Disk Wizard to prepare the drive for OS install.

OEM is for PC's that came with HD already formatted and installed.

Please Verify.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

should be able to install, the only difference between OEM and retail is that retail can have its license transfered and an OEM must stay with the original PC.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: XP Professional OEM Question

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
Ok, so i just finished building a new PC for my employer. They bought all the parts at my request at newegg.com.

When it was all complete and done. I found out that my employer had purchased the XP Professional OEM version. Knowing already that this version wouldn't allow me to format the Harddrive for the first time.
So i tried it anyway. And i was right.

"Windows XP can not find a hard disk please verify....blah, blah, blah"

Can someone just verify for me that I'm correct and must buy the retail full version of XP Professional to format the hard drive for OS installation.

By the way, i already used the Seagate Disk Wizard to prepare the drive for OS install.

OEM is for PC's that came with HD already formatted and installed.

Please Verify.
is your hard drive on a raid or sata?
EricB is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 10:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

hmmm... OK, makes alot of sense.

But, when i have the CD in the drive and BOOT to CD to install.
CD boots asks me if i want to install XP. I HIT ENTER and it tells me that XP PROFESSIONAL can't find a hard drive. I know that the BIOS sees it. I know it's not formatted which XP should ask me to do.

The hard drive was prepared with a BOOT FLOPPY from Seagate the Manufact.

Why is it telling me that no Disk is found?

It's a Seagate Barracude 80 gig SATA 7200 rpms.
Power is connected and SATA cable is connected properly.

Someone tell me what i'm missing here?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

ah, eric b hit it on the head. before installing XP, you need to choose the option for the other drivers (very beginning, think it says F3 for 3rd party drivers or what not). Then use the floppy disk to install the SATA drivers. It needs those.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 08:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

use a 98 cd to boot to dos, partition it in fdisk, then format it at the command prompt, then try to install XP
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 10:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You need to press f3 or f6 (one of them) to install SATA drivers first. XP doesnt recognize SATA drives by itself
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 01:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 122
Default

That is the thing with SATA, since they have an open option for raid array configuration, you must install 3rd party dirvers for the SATA configuration. If it is an IDE drive, just make sure that the jumpers are in the "master" config. If this doesn't do anything, take the drive to another comp, and install it there, then of course, move it back.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
In the eyes of Bill Gates, the open source world seems un-activated...
geffin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.