xp problems!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2005, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Angry xp problems!!!!

Hi
i am having real probs with my xp machine the first real problem is no tabs on task manager, then names and icons start to dissapear. I have ran spybot, adaware, pc bugdoctor, wintask5 and norton 2004 and nothing has been picked up. I have tried to repair and to no avail but the big prob is when i try to copy anything to my other back up drive i egt the message that there isnt enough memory to carry out the required operation!!!!
The only way I think I can backup is to put another drive in install operating system to that one, copy all my data and relaod windows xp THAT SUCKS!!!!! anyone any ideas as to what is going on...... O.o.........
__________________

gdmwilson is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

What are your system specs?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

"the message that there isnt enough memory to carry out the required operation!!!!"

Maybe you need more memory
turtile is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 09:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Maybe I need more memory? Maybe I know how to fix your problem....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

First of all there isnt nothing wrong with your task manager. It's just in a different view that you don't know how to change, oh well.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 07:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Default

I have: one gig of ddr memory 2.6ghz proc, 1 160gb hard drive, 1 80 gig hard drive, 256 radeon 9200 ati graphics card, creative blaster sound blaster 3d live running windows xp service pack two. I have tried a different memory module and also tried to repair windows. I have done nothing to alter the way taskmanager is shown and that does not answer the icons dissapearing bit????
The fact that it was alright one minute and mental the next. Please tell me how to change the look of task manager so i can check that. But I reckon my xp might just be rather corrupted \ /
bugggggggggggeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrr
gdmwilson is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 08:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to Microsoftt Send a message via AIM to Microsoftt Send a message via Yahoo to Microsoftt
Default

Wow, everything about your computer is atleast two times better. I'm jealous.
Microsoftt is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 08:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Open task manager, next to where it reads "end processes" click next to that in a blank area and double click and your task manager will be back to normal.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 09:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks i will try that
gdmwilson is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 10:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Wow yep that worked for task manager but what is the point??
still think somethings a miss in my start bar some icons are just not there and there is no names under some stuff O..o
__________________

gdmwilson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.