XP problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2006, 12:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
The best time to install A service pack and many other updates is after a fresh format, before you install anything else.

At least in my experience.
Right on the money, that way you can isolate the problem much easier.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
It'll be worth it
From what I've seen so far, I can't really see how.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

when u have a slipstreamed copy it will be...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 03:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
My system has never been 'attacked'. I use Firefox, which is more secure than IE will ever be. And so far, all these stupid service packs have done is screw me over.

I'll take the risk. It's easy to reformat, but it's a pain in the *** to do it again 10 minutes later when these SP's screw me.

In 5 years of being on the internet, I've never been hacked. I'm behind a routor and a hub, and even if I weren't..I really couldn't care less lol.
This has got to be the quote of the week. Firefox isnt secure. hence the updates it has had over the past few weeks. It was at 1.5 and then all of a sudden they released 1.5.0.3 or something. Which was 3 updates in less that 2 weeks time. Firefox is getting attacked as much as IE6 is now.

If you use SP2 already slipstreamed into your isntall you will notice a difference. I didnt think i would either. Till i did it. I had the same issue as you. But it was SP1 that was the problem. Not SP2 which corrected teh problem that SP1 created. So try SP2 and see if it causes an error. If not i can bet it was your SP1 that was the problem.

I have been on the net for over 12 years. I have never been hacked but i have been attacked. Viruses and Spyware are considered attacks. Being hacked is where your pc is taken over.

But the decision is yours......
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I dunno, I reformat every 3 months or so, and I don't keep anything incredibly valueable on my computer..I really don't see what is so special about a few security updates.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Its like leaving your home door opened 24/7. You might go three years befoe someone decides to rob you, then all of a sudden when you least expect it, you get hit, and it will happens, more than likley it will be a virus. Since you dont have those updates, you are more than likely to receive those viruses because the updates were put out because of those viruses, exploits, etc. Just like the WMF fix that came out a few months ago. Its possible you can get it even if you have a firewall, FF, router, etc is NOT going to stop everything, I guarantee it. There is a reason for the updates, they dont put them out there for nothing. And there are updates in SP2 that you dont currently have on your system that you might like.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Like what? Does it make my computer run faster?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:09 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

READ ME
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.