XP problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2003, 02:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default XP problem

When I started my computer, it went to a page that says to click on an account to open it. There were not any accounts listed. I also have not been having to start my computer like this. I could not log on as an administrator. I ended up having to reinstall my operating system. Can someone tell me what happened and how to prevent it from happening again?
Thanks
__________________

dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 12-23-2003, 04:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

We've come across this one time however we were abke o boot it up in safe-mode succefully. Did you try that?

Anyway, the solution to that problem (not nessarily yours) was believe it or not, to disable Nortons recycle bin thing (I forgot what its called)...
I cant remember how we were able to dermine this as it was quite awhile ago but it did the trick
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 12-23-2003, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

I did log on in safe mode but my adminstrator account did not show up. Made a new adminstrator account and logged on with it but still could not get the computer to start up to where I had been using it. I had disabled Norton and just about everything else but it still would not work. Just want to try to stop this from happening again.
dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 12-23-2003, 05:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

We were able to still use Nortons AV but, we just disabled the Nortons Recycle bin... Your recycle bin is called someething else like Nortons Protected bin or something like that.
I think we right clicked that and disable ONLY that part of it and the bin restored it self back to the normal Windows bin and the comp was ok.

Anyway, I was under the impression that you did not have the problem anymore because you reinstalled and you wanted to know how to prevent the problem from occurring again.
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 12-23-2003, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

That is correct, the problem is solved by reinstalling XP. I also have the Norton Protected recycle bin disabled. I did that after reinstalling XP. I do want to know how to prevent the problem for happening again. Maybe that will help. I guess I'll just have to wait and see what happens. That is the first time it has ever happened and I have not used the Norton recycle bin protection until just a few weeks before this took place.
Thanks
dhsrcjh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.