XP problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2004, 04:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default XP problem

So i was setting my xp home edition up when it came to the licencse agreement. It says it hit F8 if u agree and esc if u dont so i tried hitting F8 but apparently my F key lock was on and i didn't realize that at the time so i hit esc. Does this mean that xp is installed on to my hard drive and that i just cant access it?
__________________

__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

when you hit f8, i think it usually terminates the setup and reboots.

after you see the license agreement and accept, the install should format the partition and copy the install files to the disk. Then the pc should reboot and start the main installation process which usually takes 40-60mins on a 1ghz+ pc.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

u need to select a partition first, after pressing F8

then select format method (NTFS etc) and confirm before it starts formatting and/or copying files.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Ok so thats good but now i think i will reset my CMOS because it gets stuck when it says verifying DMI pool. Does that sound like a good idea?
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 12:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Yes set it to default.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.