xp pro x64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2005, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default xp pro x64

I got my copy of the the recently released XP Pro X64 off MSDN and a nice key to replace my old pro one off microsoft... I was pretty excited, it installed beautifully, its nice and fast and i was able to find full/beta drivers for everything. However I cant help but feel a little dissapointed: having seen my boss install tiger on his mac last week, i was impressed by the flashy tricks and look that the os has (and I dont like macs), so installing x64 i was thinking "ooh what nice things have microsoft added?": The answer it seems is nothing. x64 looks identical to standard 32bit xp pro. Though you get a 32bit version of IE and a 64bit version of IE (but I hate IE). I have got firefox 32 and a beta of firefox 64 installed so I am happy with that.


I just feel that ms could have made a bit more effort with x64, after all XP has been about for years now, but so far my exploring has yet to come up with anything special about x64... apart from the important fact that my processor is now being used properly (except when running 32bit apps). I look forward to 64bit versions of photoshop and games, movie players etc, so I know it will be a good os to have, i just feel let down by there being no layout changes!

Oh well. I am happy I have it anyway!
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 08:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

I am glad you got it to work well for you.I ran into alot of problems with it so I split it up between XP-64 and XP pro 32.I found that some programs just crashed on the 64 bit.However I am using the bata version.
__________________

__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 12:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I think because it is just a 64-bit make of XP, they left it the same. I think when Longhorn comes out there is going to be a bit more flashy/fancy things.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 03:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

What are the system requirements for XP64?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 03:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

System requirements

*

Supported processors: AMD Athlon 64, AMD Opteron, Intel Xeon with Intel EM64T support, Intel Pentium 4 with Intel EM64T support
*

256 MB RAM
*

1.5 GB available hard-disk space
*

Super VGA (800x600) or higher resolution video card
*

CD-ROM or DVD drive
*

Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 03:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I remember way back in the day seeing screen shots of Longhorn. It was pretty hot! Like Linux, they have 6 customizable desktops to choose between. I cant explain that any further, except it is just like what Linux does.

OSX was the same, with the flashy-ness of it. That's what catches peoples eye with the Mac os, is the flashy-ness of it. Other than that, even though it is built on Unix, it sucks.

Where can I obtain a copy of Windows x64?
Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
Where can I obtain a copy of Windows x64?
I believe you have to purchase it now, check your local retailers, or www.microsoft.com

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 11:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16837102034

Why does it say 'not for distribution to end users?' yet they are selling iit to anyone with a credit card.

EDIT: As i was writing this, I flashed over to that page, and notice that it has to be purchased with hardware. But still, why would they do that?
Him is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Because they have a lisence to sell it.

Glad you have had a good expirence w/ Win XP x64. You shouldn't have expected anything big; it's Exactly what it says it is, Windows XP in 64 bits...I probably couldn't find drivers for everything that I use.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 09:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Does anyone know how well the version from newegg runs? I mean, is it loaded with bugs? I'm building this guy a system, an AMD x64, and I will be installing Windows x64... Hopefully. He's old, computer illiterate, and lives rather far from me so I cannot be tech support. I just want to know if it will run fine, or will I be better off just throwing on regular XP Pro.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.