XP Pro wont start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2005, 09:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default XP Pro wont start

hiya fellas

i have just run into a bit of a problem.

AS is start XP, it starts to log in, but then just stays on my desktop screen, without loading anything, no menu, icons, nothin. I can Ctrl-alt-del, and it comes up that looks like most, or all processes are running fine.

I have tryed safe mode, and start with last known good config, and these have done nothing. Safe mode comes with the same thing normal did.

I havnt done anything out of the ordinary to make this happen.

THe only thing i can think of is a few virus scans, and an unusual amount of trojans found, which i just clicked heal, and a few had to be deleted, using AVG free.

can anyone help me, i have important yr 12 work on there that i hadnt got around to backing up yet.

Plz, i rally need this to work without losing any documents.

thx
__________________

Chrono is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 10:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

In Task Manager you can still browse your harddrive and save your document on a floppy or rewritable CD.

Also run system restore by clicking on file \new task and type rstrui.exe
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

ok... thx

ill give it a try, and post back if it DOESNT work

thx again
Chrono is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

no good, just came up saying cant find, make sure its right blah blah.
Chrono is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

then you must have system restore turn off
Law is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

AFAIK, its on... im sure it is. i think ive even used it.

Is it the right thing to type, is there anoither way?
Chrono is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

go into task manager click on file then new task. click on browse and go into windows/system32/restore and run the rstrui.exe program.
Law is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

yay... it worked... thx law

ended up finding it, and it worked
yay'

also thanks to spybot, for making so many restore points for me to fall onto

once again, thx law
Chrono is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

glad it work for you
__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.