XP pro, whats the difference? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 12:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default XP pro, whats the difference?

A friend called today and said if I had a pair of decent pc speakers , he would trade me a whole pc for them. I traded him my altec lancing set for a pc with a 533 celeron ,128mb sdram ,cd drive, zip drive and floppy also. It had xp pro on it. What are the advantages of the pro version?
__________________

geekster is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 03:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default

I know that there are a few more security features in Pro then home, and it's way easier sharing files from one PC to another with Pro. So networking PC's is much easier. It's also the most pirated OS out there. That's all I know. Maybe someone else knows a few more things then I do.
__________________

Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 544
Default

XP home only allows simple file sharing, Pro allows you to set permissions easier but this does lead to potential security holes if you don't set it up right.

Pro also allows you to install the IIS plug-in so that you can run a webserver, ftp server etc...

In general you have that bit more control over your computer and over different users. Home is good for the general home user as it is pretty simple and harder to mess up. On the downside you are a bit restricted as to what you can do, but for someone coming from win98 it is not really noticeable since these options were not there before anyway.

Pro gives you more ability to manage security options and set permissions for different users. You need more of an understaning of what is going on to get it right and as a result if you dont know what you are doing you can mess up or leave your computer vaulnerable.
fitzjj is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/h...choosing2.mspx
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 12:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

Thanks for the replys. That cleared it up.
geekster is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 02:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

xp pro shouldnt be on that system. its too slow. I would downgrade to windows 98, which probably came with it originally. Your other system isn't that great either, no offense!
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 02:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

XP will run fine on that system.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 08:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to locki433
Default

He needs more Ram for it to run good, but a 533MHz is more than fast enough to run XP on.
__________________
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Opteron 175 @ 2.80Ghz
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
OCZ DDR500 2048 Gold XTC
eVGA 7800GTx 256MB PCI-E
Lite-On 16x DVD+-RW DL
Mushkin 120GB SSD SATAIII
Seagate 1TB SataII x 2
Dell 20.1 Inch Widescreen LCD
locki433 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 08:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
xp pro shouldnt be on that system. its too slow. I would downgrade to windows 98, which probably came with it originally. Your other system isn't that great either, no offense!
A version of 2KPRO would be ideal

Stick 256 meg ram in it and it's good for normal XP use
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.