XP pro. web cam probs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2002, 09:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default XP pro. web cam probs

Hi
Can anyone pls help, I am running XP pro no problems until I try to use my logitec quickcam. It opens ok then freezes in about one second.
I have downloaded the latest XP drivers, checked for device conflicts ect. I have even gone to the point of re-installing XP downloading SP1 then installing the web cam (drivers 1st before plugging in). I still get the same result.

Web cam works fine using Win 2K operating system. (I boot this on a different HD using the bios, so no conflict there.)

Any help on this subject would be appreciated as I would like to move to XP eventually.
__________________

tallpeter is offline  
Old 12-01-2002, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 68
Default USB Drivers

Have you gone to the web site of the PC manufacturer and downloaded XP compatible System Board software? Sometimes this can occur when XP uses it's own default system board drivers.
__________________

brahm is offline  
Old 12-10-2002, 04:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I had tried everything apart from the mb drivers.

I have downloaded the latest drivers, it has improved things but not solved the problem,

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction
tallpeter is offline  
Old 02-20-2003, 11:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default Follow up

Hi.

I fixed my web cam prob by accident. for anyone intersted this is how.

I formatted HD set up a clean install of 2000 on 1st partion then XP on the 2nd. and installed sp1 for xp.

I later installed my web cam on 2000 with latest software, the recomended way is install software 1st then plug in camera when requested, no problems.
I did not intend to use cam with xp as I had given up thinking it was the mobo.

I later booted to xp forgetting the cam was still plugged in xp located the cam connected to the internet for an update and it is now working.

I have not tried the camera with its own software yet, that could be another story.
tallpeter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.