XP Pro Repair Wont Boot URGENT - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2005, 07:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

It's ok, Im not going to hld you responsible lol. But Im just saying, because I don't know how long its going to be before Im going to be able to get ahold of a secondary HDD.

And, If I were to go against your word, and reinstall windows, do you think it would even fix the boot problem in the first place? BEcause im sure as hell not going to risk my files, if you KNOW that its not going to make any difference.
__________________

martianX10 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

*Bump* Anyone else? Can somebody give me a STRAIGHT answer please?
__________________

martianX10 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

if you have a linux knoppix 3.9 cd (it can run from the cd) and a dvd burner, you can burn those files to dvd


Knoppix 3.9

http://www.kernel.org/pub/dist/knopp...5-05-27-EN.iso
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

120 gb across 5.7 gb dvds is quite a bit. Pluss I dont really know how to function Linux. I COULD use my second computer, and stick the DVD burner in that, but as I said, 120gb over 5.7gb dvds is quite a few dvds and even more time. The second computer only has a 20 gb HDD so I wouldnt be able to use that to backup either. This laptop has a 5gb HD so thats DEFINATELY out of the question.

My friend has offered to come over on Friday and let me backup 93.6 gb of files lol. Seems like so long though. Lame.
martianX10 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 11:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

for future references never have your data on the same partition as your OS as RicoDirenzo said.

I have like 400gigs on this computer, yet my OS only take up 20 gigs

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 07:16 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

Alright, I backup my files on my friend's comp, and reinstalled windows OVER my old windows, everything was working fine, except one thing, my motherboard fan. I need my motherboard drivers, but the compouter verheats and wont stay on long enough to install the driver.

Need the driver to cool it down, need to cool it down to get the driver. So I'm in major predicament here, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE help me. Thanks.
martianX10 is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 07:35 AM   #17 (permalink)
TMT
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241
Default

If you have a domestic room fan, then open up your case and blow air on to your whole system with that. That will give you loads of air flow. It'll probably cool your system cooler than it does stock.

TMT.
TMT is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 08:30 AM   #18 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I would advise against that. Yes you will get the arflow and it might cool it off but from someone who has taken A+ Core Hardware you will do more damage to your system than good. If you do this do it so you can get the driver installed then shut down immediately. Cases are made specifically designed for airflow with fans installed. When you open them up and run them you change the design and therefor advertly affect the airflow. In turn it causes more damage over a period of time sine it was meant to work the way it was designed. It gets really complicated but i only suggest you do this to get drivers installed or for about 10 minutes TOPS.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 09:40 AM   #19 (permalink)
TMT
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Yes, Makaveli213. That's exactly what I was suggesting him to do; to cool it down while he installs the driver. Then, when he reboots, the motherboard fan will have regained operation.

I wasn't suggesting that he replace his internal cooling altogether with it.

TMT.
TMT is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 11:03 AM   #20 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay sorry. I misread the post just a bit. I know that nobody would intenitally suggest this but sometime people forget to mention what can happen.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.