XP pro really that much better then Home? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 05:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default XP pro really that much better then Home?

Just wondering, is it really that good not considering the price. I'm pretty sure its alot more tough with hardware problems.
__________________

EndofSanity is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

i think it loads a lot faster, so if ur hard drive isnt the greatest it's good. I don't care about the price, because I got a copy of it free from my dad's friend.
__________________

__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 45
Default

Not really, it doesn't run faster. It just has better networking capabilities. If you want your computer to run faster you should get Media Center. But if I were you I would just install pro because I like to have the best.
koanaihe is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 06:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

are you a basic internet home user or do you have networks of computers?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 12:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

Multiple computers. All i know is pro is more stable...
EndofSanity is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 02:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

I've spent some time with both, stability and speed between the two are the same. Most people go with Pro so their clients can login to a domain controller.
__________________
Asus Board
AMD X2 4400
2GB OCZ Platinum
I-RAM 4GB
Raptor 150GB
Caviar 320GB SATA2
Asus 7800GTX
SUSE 10.0 64Bit-WindowsXP x64-Vista 5270 64Bit
Jason S is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EndofSanity
Multiple computers. All i know is pro is more stable...
go with pro....more networking capa., more secure, etc...lots of tools
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 04:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

xp professional doesnt require activation, which is a pain in the a**
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 05:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

shouldnt that be better? if it doesnt require activation
__________________

EndofSanity is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.