XP Pro keeps restarting at startup. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2006, 10:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default XP Pro keeps restarting at startup.

I have a Dell GX260 with XP Pro SP2. It keeps restarting as soon as the desktop comes up. When it restarts chkdsk starts running every time. But, it's not running the repair option. The desktop is only up for about 20 seconds before it restarts. I've tried starting in safe mode but then it won't even make it to the desktop. I'm trying to save some of the pics that are on the comp b/c they are my friends newborn and this is his comp. All I care about is saving those. Any ideas on how I can get this thing to stop restarting long enough to get those pics? I've tried to copy them in Recovery Console but it won't let me switch to the Documents and Settings directory.


Thanks,
Andy
__________________

brrymnvette is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

One thing you can do is get a new (or another) harddrive (henceforce will be shortened to HD2), install XP on it, and put your first harddrive (HD1) as a slave to HD2. The computer will load the OS from HD2 (in master position) and you'll be able to tranfers anything on and off of HD1.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

I've thought about that, but I don't have a spare hard drive yet and he hasn't bought a new one yet. So, I was just seeing if there was anything I could do in the meantime.
brrymnvette is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

You could try a windows repair. Personally, my first post was a much easier (although time consuming) way. Windows repair is reinstalling the OS without touching your files. Google it if you wish to pursue this option, although, i would suggest my first post because of the lack of possible data loss.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

I found a spare 10gb so that's what I'm trying right now.
I'm going to try and ghost it after I get the OS installed.
brrymnvette is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Let me know how it goes.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

use a bartpe or erd commander 2005 cd.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

I don't have either of those. Where can I find one?
brrymnvette is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

erd can recovere deleted and lost files. make sure that you have the other hdd hooked up


http://www.winternals.com/Products/A...k/Default.aspx


bart

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4007.html
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

Ok, I must be blind b/c I don't see where to dl/buy the admin pack? It just shows the highlights of it? It looks to be better than the bartpe.

Thanks
__________________

brrymnvette is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.