XP Pro install error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2005, 04:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 105
Question XP Pro install error

When I try to install XP on my sys I get the following error:

"Error:

Installation failed : D:\l386\asms. Error Message :

The parameter is incorrect.

xxx

Fatal Error: -

One of the components that windows needs to continue setup could not be installed.

xxx

The parameter is incorrect."



wtf is this? The disk worked fine on another computer...

please help! thanks,

die fische
__________________

__________________
***les poissant souples***
f15h is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Try a different cd drive
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 01:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

use nlite to make a new disk and integrate everything you want and remove components and you should be set

http://www.nliteos.com/
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 12:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 105
Default

Ok, what components do I need to remove for the install to work correctly?

How would using this program help my problem?

I'm half way through setup, I can't login to windows and i can't cancel the setup.

please help,

fische
__________________
***les poissant souples***
f15h is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 10:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 105
Unhappy still here

hmm.... still here, everyone, still having the same problem!

input is appreciated.

f15h
__________________
***les poissant souples***
f15h is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 01:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Default

WHEN CONDUCTING A FRESH INSTALL OF ANY OS, ALWAYS TRY TO INSTALL WITH MINIMAL HARDWARE INSTALLED ON THE MOBO. THIS WILL EASY THE JOB OF THE OS TRYING TO FIND AO MANY DRIVERS FOR YOUR HARDWARE. ONCE YOU HAVE THE OS RUNNING PROPERLY, YOU CAN START TO ADD ON YOUR HARDWARE ONE PIECE AT A TIME.

HAVE YOU TRIED TO USE THE XP COMPATIBILITY SOFTWARE TO ENSURE THAT YOUR COMPUTER IS CAPABLE OF RUNNING XP? IT IS A FREE DOWNLOAD FROM MICROSOFT'S WEBSITE.

LIKE THE PREVIOUS POSTING SAID, TRY USING A DIFFERENT CD-ROM DRIVE. IT MAY WORK.

GOOD LUCK!
jorge0608 is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 01:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

Yeah i had the same trouble with that version after burning the image file to disk.
The way i got around this problem was to use ISO Buster to extract all the files from the image (ISO) to my second drive then run setup from there.
Once this had completed without errors i then wrote them files to a CD which worked fine on another 2 computers.
Of course if you don't have two drives then extract all files to your hard drive using ISO Buster and write them back to a CD. Hopefully this will work for you as well.
nuke is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I advise to stay away from nlite. The software is to buggy and removes more components than desired. I constantly have to use my XP cd to add files back to my OS because of the file protection errors and I cant install Office, unless I turn it off.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 01:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 105
Default

I tried installing the same XP Pro on a 20 gb IDE drive, in a different computer. I got the same error. I formatted using FC2, used that for a while, then I Formatted the drive a second time with XP Pro AGAIN.

The interesting thing was... after setup finished copying windows setup files and I rebooted, the first three sections of the install were complete.

I don't understand this at all... How would setup remember the stage of an install AFTER it had been formatted with another OS? (and then reformatted with xp pro setup) hmm

I'll try using ISO buster. Thanks again,

fish
__________________
***les poissant souples***
f15h is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 11:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Your CD might be damaged.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.