(XP Pro) Computer will not start up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 02:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Exclamation (XP Pro) Computer will not start up

I installed sp2 on my computer and now it won't even let me boot it up into safe mode. I've found the problem I just don't know how to fix it. It gives me the following message: stop:c0000135 winsrv was not found .....
I've looked up what that means and it's a problem between spyware or adware and sp2. The problem that I am having is that I don't have any of my windows xp pofessional cds. My exboyfriend stole them from me. Is there any websites where I can just download the start up or boot disk? Just so that I can at least get into safe mode?

Thanks so much
Sharon
__________________

sharon is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Before installing SP2, you were/are supposed make sure your system is clean of spyware, it even states that somewhere. The best way to install SP2, is after a fresh install. You might want to try the recovery console, last known good config. or repair..
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I actually did use trendmicro and my ad-aware before i installed it. so I was under the impression that my system was clean.
sharon is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Would it be a big deal to reinstall?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Not if i Had the cds.. my ex apparently took them when I moved out of his apartment.
sharon is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 02:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You need to use multiple ad aware programs as each program will find more or less than the other.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 02:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I'll remember that for next time But when can i do now? Is there any website where I can just download a "boot" disk so I can at least get into Safe mode?
sharon is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 02:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

check your pm...
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.