Xp pro bad install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2008, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Xp pro bad install

I have installed xp pro, and after the install is done, and the set up finishes, I cant get past the load screen. The load screen rolls by, and then my screen is black until my monitor goes to sleep. I checked the boot order, I took out the xp disk, I put the xp disk back in, and tried to boot after all that, and I have no idea what to do now.

I re-installed, and still did the same thing. Any ideas?

and one thing that just happened, after a while of sitting on a black screen, it rebooted. But then went to the same thing. Dont think that changes anything, but still
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 08:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: Xp pro bad install

if this is not the very first install on a newly built computer, was everything in working order before you installed XP Pro? Sounds like a hardware problem, like if it's a new build, and you have onboard and video card conflicts.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Xp pro bad install

well everything was in working order. and i have had this build a while. I have reinstalled quite a few times on this pc
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Xp pro bad install

maybe something just kicked the bucket on you. run stress tests on everything..
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Xp pro bad install

like what could it be? I mean... graphics messed up? Should I try to install vista again?
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Xp pro bad install

your gfx card might have crapped the bed. or something to that effect.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Xp pro bad install

how can i test that? since I cant boot..
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Xp pro bad install

do you have another gfx card handy. or another comptuer with a pcie slot handy? or does your comptuer ahve onboard gfx?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Xp pro bad install

I dont have onboard. I got a maximus formula. I am gonna put in an old pci-e card. and see if that works
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Xp pro bad install

that i guess would be the only way to tell if its a gfx issue. and ah, glossed over the maximus in your siggy.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Can't install OS / bad ram? dawizhacker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-27-2007 04:21 AM
Windows xp pro clean install poetry8 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 11-20-2007 12:49 PM
Laptop Shuts OFF during XP Install. BAD HD ???? Katmandu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 11-10-2007 05:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.