XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2007, 09:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

But at the same time you lose half of your storage. Compared to my method which you have all your storage and it is safe and secure. Until the disc fails. But if you use 1 HDD for nothing but storage of files then it should not fail anytime soon.

My HDD that i use for storage is nothing but Extended partitions. It has my downloads, family pics, among other things on there. Files that i dont access at all times yet they are there when i need them. Compared to teh other drives which are my 2 system HDD's.

The 1 HDD is nothing but OS's. 4 partitions with XP/Vista/PCLinuxOS/Ubuntu on it. The other is my music drive which is accessed quite a bit and my Emulators.

So you see while my drive isnt accessed much i dont have much to worry about in terms of failure. I get all my storage and dont lose any to a RAID Array.

The choice is yours. I prefer never to use Raid as it is a waste of time and space. Because you dont know if XP upon install with have the drivers for the RAID array. Then you have to get them slipstreamed in. The you get XP isntalled only to find out Vista doesnt have the drivers either. So then you have to go back and get Vista to recognize your RAID array.

Just so much work which can be avoided with some thinking ahead. Plus those files you cant lose. Back them up on DVD's as well. It may take several to do so. But in the end if you due have a failure in ALL your drives, heaven forbid, you will still have that info.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 09:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

Well, how about this. Use 2 320gb hdd and partition it in half. One side for xp pro and the other for vista. Do a raid 1 on these two hdd and with my other two hdd that aren't accessed much just use them separately to not lose any hdd and have external backups for them. I don't mind giving up 320gb on my os side to have some added security to not have to reinstall if a disc goes bad. I know what you are saying about losing a whole hdd but I have done raid 1 before on other computers and it has been a big time saver of not having to reinstall the os and apps. Just put in the new hdd and the os goes onto the new hdd without any work from me.
__________________

__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 09:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

Having you OS's in RAID will not prevent a re-install. To do that use Acronis or Norton Ghost and make a Image. That way when things go bad you ahve a image that you can just put back on at any time with just a few clicks. Plus it will already be updated as of when you created the image and have any software that you already preloaded.

The reason why a RAID wont protect you is because when something goes wrong on the first disc, die to drivers or whatever. It will be mirrored on the 2nd disc. So no matter what you will have to re-install. As you said yourself RAID 1 is mirror. So what happens on the first will happen to the second.

Like i said if you choose to that is fine. But it is simple and easy to make a image and just put that on when your OS fails. I have about 30 or so images of XP adn another 12 or so of VIsta already. It is all personal preference. I cant make the decision for you. I can just show you other options.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 09:49 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

Ok, I see what you are saying. If something corrupts it but if the hdd just goes bad it will work the way I explained, right?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 10:01 AM   #15 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

Yes if just hte HDD goes bad then the way you explained it everything will work. But as i stated if a application or some other piece of software damages it then it wont since it will be mirrored onto the RAID array.

You can do both if you wish. Create your RAID Array and make a Image. That way no matter what happens you will be covered.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 09:38 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

If I am going to dual boot using xp 64 and vista 64 what things do I really need to know?
Hardware?
Software?
How do I find out what works?
Also, is there any special way that you install your other hdd. If choose no raid and do it your way do I need to do anything when formatting the drives?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 10:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Re: XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

If I would happen to use 32 bit for my os, is 3gb or 4 just wasting money?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 12:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
If I am going to dual boot using xp 64 and vista 64 what things do I really need to know?
Hardware?
Software?
How do I find out what works?
Also, is there any special way that you install your other hdd. If choose no raid and do it your way do I need to do anything when formatting the drives?
Hardware isnt such a big concern. Most hardware can do either. It is the CPU that matters most. Make sure yours in 64 Bit compatible and you are set.
Software you will have to make sure that the software you use is either using a 32 bit installer or a 64 bit isntaller and runs at either 32 or 64 bit. 64 Bit can not do anything with 16 bit apps.
No special way to isntall hard drives. Put in it. Plug it in. Power it up. RAID configs require more but for just general usage no special needs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
If I would happen to use 32 bit for my os, is 3gb or 4 just wasting money?
If you use 3GB you will be fine. But if you use 4GB you will see only 3 or 3.5GB being used and recognized.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 12:57 AM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

64 is a lot faster. especially for video encoding. if many companies got into it, it could be even faster.

I'd follow mak's advice and don't do raid. I tell people that, then month later they are crying about their crashed hdd's, because they didn't want to listen. if you are going that route at the very least get some seagate scsi drives with and adaptec controller, which are 10x times more rugged than ide. never raid ide drives.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 01:08 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
J9Darkwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: XP pro 32, 64 or Vista 32 or 64?

I use two 10k, 74gig raptor hard drives in raid 0 for my OS and (thanks to people here on the forum) have found Acronis to replace my old ghost 9.0 to backup the OS. In my experience XP does not come with raid drivers that work so you'll have to go through the whole 'raid drivers floppy disk' thing. Vista on the other hand has never had an issue with raid and has worked in raid from day one. Do what Mak said and put your important must have's on dvd. If you insist on raid the use raid 0 and image your OS.
If the software you intend to install isn't 64bit, and most software isn't, then it won't make much difference if you run 32 or 64 bit unless you want 4 gig of ran. Hopefully that will change with time and the forward thinking person would go with the 64 bit.
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
www.nightowlremote.com
J9Darkwing is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista whoring nearly half my ram needlessly? Sydzy Overclocking and Modding 16 05-07-2007 04:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.