XP Pricing... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2005, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 45
Default XP Pricing...

Why can you go to google and search for microsoft xp pro and find it for anywhere from 50-199 bucks a copy. Are the cheap people out there really selling legit copies of this software?
For instance...

http://www.buy-oem-cd.com/?pid=350&c...&page=winxppro

http://directdepot2u.com/item.asp?PID=671


That is just a taste there are lots of sites that are very similar.
__________________

pendo007 is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 12:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

It's possible that they never updated their lists after price drops. I'd buy it from a store though. If I'm not mistaking XP Pro at a store is $100. And home is $50 I think.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

At most retail places Home is around $100, Pro $200. Buy from Newegg and it's a good bit cheaper : http://www.newegg.com/ProductSort/Su...ubCategory=368
I'm not sure about XP Media Center Edition, though. I've heard it's quite buggy
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 04:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Boy its a good thing i dont pay for those kind of things
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 04:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Shawn I respect you but I seriously hope you use Linux then. You cannot buy Media Center legally from a store as it needs to meet certain hardware specifications from Microsoft. Normally to get media center it must come pre built to meet the specifications if I'm not mistaken.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 08:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Yes you can. It's a 2 cd set.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 10:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 670
Default

I'd say its for real but I'd go and do some Legwork on my own and actually buy it from a person/retailer/store, not online. Some online retailers are fishy

Jake
__________________
Linux Distro chooser

[
jakec is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 01:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
Shawn I respect you but I seriously hope you use Linux then. You cannot buy Media Center legally from a store as it needs to meet certain hardware specifications from Microsoft. Normally to get media center it must come pre built to meet the specifications if I'm not mistaken.
I bought MCE 2005 for 130.00. you can also buy the TV tuners too. I paid 79.00 for an nvidia NVTV hardware encoder that only work on MCE. My Amd 3500 processor 500 gig drives 1gig ram is a machine that I personally built. you are mistaking it for MCE 2004
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 12:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

just to let u know, the CHEAPEST way to get windows xp is on EBay or just a computer preinstalled with XP
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.