Xp and Permissions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2006, 11:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 109
Default Xp and Permissions

I have a client running XP Pro
I have had to replace the VGA and the default settings give the lowest screen resolution
I attempted to change the settings but a window displayed that the Current Users doesn't not have permission, in Users & Accounts the current user is the only User & has Administrative Rights, the Guest A/c is disabled

What do I need to do to change the Display Settings

Thanks for all replies
__________________

philb101 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

they on a network?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 109
Default

The said PC is connected to one other PC
philb101 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Do you have an administrator account? perform a "Runas" on the display settings in the CP.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 03:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
Do you have an administrator account? perform a "Runas" on the display settings in the CP.
How would you do that?
htcs is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 92
Default

you might also want to restart into safemode and go into admin becuase i have found that works best and over rules everything else, the password for admin should be admin in xp. if that doesnt work try to disconnect it from all internet or network and try it that way.
__________________

Zindel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.