XP partition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2002, 08:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 42
Question XP partition

I am going to partition 60 gig H/D. I would like to move all possible files and programs to second partition, reformat and reinstall XP O/S on first partition on 2 gigs, then share files and programs with second O/S (Linux) to be installed later.Which files and programs can I move safely and how? Note: Will be using Partition Magic
__________________

__________________
OLOPBOB
olopbob is offline  
Old 10-22-2002, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

Your best bet would be to only move documents and other static files. Rather than actually moving your programs over, I would rather move over the installs for said programs. Also, before a format, ensure that you have all the necessary drivers for your system.
__________________

Seloce is offline  
Old 10-22-2002, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 42
Default

I've taken everyones advice and backed files up to disk, I think I'll get an external H/D in the future. I really don't need to move programs since they seldom work right after tansfer and I have disks. Now I just have to figure out how to get Linux to work on NTFS. I've read how but now I need to let it sink in and find the easiest way to access my files in both O/S's. I could revert to Fat 32 but have had little success since XP loves to compress hidden files. I even tried the command line prompt to uncompress all files but still didn't gain access to them all. I niether have the time nor temperment to try again unless there's a free program for that purpose.
__________________
OLOPBOB
olopbob is offline  
Old 10-23-2002, 12:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

linux doesn't read ntfs? that's news to me.
Seloce is offline  
Old 10-23-2002, 01:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 42
Default

It does, but according to manual it has to be installed to a Linux ext2 logical partition which has to be first on an extended partition with a second logical part., Linux swap, with a lot of special instruction I haven't figured out.
__________________
OLOPBOB
olopbob is offline  
Old 10-23-2002, 01:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

wow. what a pain in the ***. welll, I'll feel your pain shortly. looking at setting up a test server using linux. I hear it's one of the best ways to truly learn the dynamics of tcp/ip
Seloce is offline  
Old 10-23-2002, 06:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to Artamir Send a message via AIM to Artamir
Default

You could use PowerQuest's PartitionMagic. It's not free, but I can PM you with a way to get it from the net.

You simply create the partition and tell it you want to install Linux on it and it will create the swap and ext2 partitions alone. You might need to convert them to NTFS after, but that's easy to do with Partition Magic.

Seloce: I suggest you install Slackware..can be hard to begin with, but it's also one of the best ways to truely learn UNIX/Linux. =)
Artamir is offline  
Old 10-23-2002, 10:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

I'd appreciate that PM
__________________

Seloce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.