XP Paint--help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2003, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 15
Question XP Paint--help!

I have a bit of a problem. I love using Paint while cleaning up images, and I don't have a toolbox all of a sudden! I have checked the box next to toolbox in the View dropdown menu, and it doesn't do anything...it's like it's just not there. Does anyone know how to reset Paint to default settings? I have tried uninstall/reinstall, both manually and through Add/Remove Programs, but it didn't change anything. Any advice would be appreciated!

I am using Windows XP.
__________________

Leila is offline  
Old 06-10-2003, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Hi ,,

You might want to try reinstalling this component of the OS,,

get into your control Panel,,,and go into ADD/REMOVE programs,, then along the side ,, choose ADD/REMOVE WINDOWS COMPONENTS..from there a new window will open,,,highlight Accessories and Utilities,, and then click on the DETAILS button in the bottom right corner,,

Another window will open with Accessories or Games as options,,

highlight Accessories and hit ..DETAILS again,,,

in the new window,, scroll down to paint,, Hightlight it,,and make sure that there is a checkmark in the box ,,,

hit OK,, you may be asked for your XP cd Rom,,

reboot,, try it again,,

cheers,
__________________

__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 06-10-2003, 01:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

you can also try using the system restore feature....if this does not work,..do what crash abbott said.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 06-10-2003, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 15
Default

How exactly do I use the system restore feature? Thanks for answering BTW...
Crash Abbott had the same idea I did...unfortunately, when Paint came back up again after the reinstall/reboot, my toolbox still wasn't there. Thanks again!
Leila is offline  
Old 06-10-2003, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

ok,, well thats rotten!

Before moving away from the add windows component,, you might also want to try removing paint, rebooting , then reinstalling Paint,, sometimes without it being removed and then rebooted ,, it doesnt forget that the program is there and will only go through the motions of the install,,,

next,, go into your start menu and go into help,, type system restore and you will be given a number of options,, look for Start the System Restore Wizard in the left hand pane,,

This will allow you to restore your system to a specific date in time PROVIDED that you did NOT do a disk cleanup and delete ALL but the latest RESTORE POINT,, if you did that then forget it,,

However, if Paint NEVER had the toolbar in your memory of using this machine,, you will not be able to restore it,,

cheers,
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 06-11-2003, 11:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 15
Default

Hey hey! System Restore worked, and my toolbox is back. Thanks guys, from the bottom of my heart...
Leila is offline  
Old 06-11-2003, 01:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

i'm glad it worked for you.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 06-11-2003, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

YEEAAAAHHHH!!!
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 02:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

OMG what i found is that you can go to paint and go to view then check "Tool Box" in the list as well as maybe the "Colour Box" and "Status Bar"
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.