XP - Pagefile missing or too small!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 07:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default XP - Pagefile missing or too small!!

I have a problem to which i have major problems finding the sollution. Have patience with me.. I am no guru at computers... but, here it comes..

When i start my comp and try to log in there is a message that says something like pagefile missing or too small ...


Has anybody had the same problem and how did you fix it???
__________________

Matt_Wall is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 08:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Hello! and welcome to the forums I have had this error several times at work. There are many ways to resolve it, but the one I used is to go the page file prefernces via RIGHT CLICK on MY COMPUTER>PROPERITES>ADVANCED> under PERFORMANCE to to SETTINGS then ADVANCED then towards the bottom go to the virtual memory area and select CHANGE. Set the initial and max size to 0 and be sure to hit SET after each one you enter. Reboot and see if that takes care of the message...
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Post

Yep. Seems to be a good forum!

I tried to put it to 0 but it didnt work... the comp started up nicely but later came a message that said "you are running out of virtual memory". After that the comp didnt work properly at all.

Now I use the option (which is something like), "no pagefle"... that works... but gives me a warning everytime I sign in.

What do you think?
Matt_Wall is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 09:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

You need a pagefile, set it to "system managed size" and let Windows handle it.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I have tried. It doesnt work. You don't get past the "log in".
Matt_Wall is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 10:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Set them both to 1500 and reboot.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 03:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

delete the excess of file that you have that cause you the problem in the first place then reset the page file
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 08:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Yep sorry about that..I didnt get to finish with ya For sure you need a page file..the first step though was to 0 it out and rid the messae. Then properly configure the page file. Let me look up my helpdesk case to see exactly what I did..it was quite some time ago
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.