XP not recognizing ? command - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2003, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default XP not recognizing ? command

I recently gave a user a new PC with XP, upgrading from Win98. There is a shortcut to a DOS program that has the target followed by a ?, which is supposed to bring up a prompt for data before entering the program. This worked fine in 98 but now will not work in XP, like the "?" command is not recognized in the target path. Any ideas?
__________________

skibum is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

Well as far as i know, XP has left DOS inthe past,. Yes it does have command prompt, but no DOS.

But if it is a DOS application, go to the files properties, and click onthe compatability option, and select what OS you want XP to make the program work in.

It will run the program as if it was in dos,but it is not realy.

hope it helps
__________________

__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default

It does not give me the option of checking/unchecking the compatibilty settings.
skibum is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 04:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Default

I finally figured it out...instead of being able to modify a shortcut to a batch file apparently you have to have a .pif file (even though it contains the same commands) and it will recognize the "?".
skibum is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Good Old CD\
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

they wiped DOS on NT, then 2000, XP and 2003
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.