XP Media Center problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2008, 10:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default XP Media Center problem

OK, friend's laptop refuses to obtain an IP address. DHCP client service is starting, but not started. Looks like I need to do a repair install. BUT, no CD. Here's my question, if I grab one off the net and use it for a repair install using their key, will it work? If not, I'll format and install XP Pro. Unless somebody has an answer to the no DHCP client problem. And no it doesn't work using a static IP either. The router is fine because my laptop connects as does his desktop. Maybe I need to post this in the networking section as well.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: XP Media Center problem

Not sure about the IP error... but yes, if you d/l an ISO disc off of the 'net, and use the valid key that they already have, it should work.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 10:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: XP Media Center problem

No need for the network section. You can use a disc off the net. As long as you have a legit serial.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 10:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: XP Media Center problem

Cool! I just can't figure out why DHCP won't start. I am leaning toward a Windows problem which is why I want to do a repair install. I downloaded the latest drivers for the NIC and wireless card and no dice there. It's just odd that one day it worked, then it didn't. I also put AVG on there and told him to let it run. I can't imagine a virus killing DHCP since viruses WANT to get out on the network.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 10:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: XP Media Center problem

Not necessarily. It could still get out while blocking him. It could use a odd port that you would not think of and block you from using the PC. So it could be a virus or spyware.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 11:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: XP Media Center problem

may not need a redo...minor corruption

How to determine and to recover from Winsock2 corruption in Windows Server 2003, in Windows XP, and in Windows Vista
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a Media Center PC vChosen System Upgrades 8 12-03-2007 11:06 AM
Confused about getting Media Center... Flame Hawk New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-25-2007 07:22 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
Windows Media Center Problem Mike9182 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-29-2007 03:35 PM
Interested in testing the next version of Windows Media Center? Now's your chance. Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-19-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.