XP media center edition DVD decoder - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2008, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default XP media center edition DVD decoder

Does XP media center not come with a DVD decoder or am I missing something?
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 06:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 63
Default Re: XP media center edition DVD decoder

My version came wth PowerDVD which worked fine. My laptop was a reinstall and didn't come with one, but VLC still plays DVDs just fine from it.
__________________

__________________
The Emperor
The Tech Empire
TheEmperor is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: XP media center edition DVD decoder

Quote:
Originally Posted by BonKerz View Post
Does XP media center not come with a DVD decoder or am I missing something?
it doesn't. what video card do you have?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 06:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: XP media center edition DVD decoder

you specifically need just an "mpeg 2" decoder...that is to keep things simple

dl Vista Codec Pack....don't have to of course

I put that on my sisters machines, my xp and vista machines, desktop and laptops (but I am surprised the laptop mention said it didn't have one...my included a separate install for a dvd player)


there are numerous ways to play dvds on your system if you were not given a codec...codec packs or standalone players

now I'm wondering...is it XP that doesn't have built in dvd playback but XP Media Center does?
Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005: Watch DVDs
old article even says media center does:
PC World - New Media Center OS Plays Well

I can't recall because I always put vista codec pack and mpc on everything
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 06:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: XP media center edition DVD decoder

take the advice from a person who had every version of media center since 2002.

it doesn't come with one. now if you have a ati or nvidia card I can tell you the best one to use. avivo and nvidia pure video decoder use hardware instead of software to decode so you will always have a better picture. hardware kick software but by a tenfold. I use to use hardware dvd decoders (real magic. $300.00) before ati and nvidia came out with these.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: XP media center edition DVD decoder

ah ok, yeah i have a 8800gt
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: XP media center edition DVD decoder

Is Avivo just the converter or does it also include the DVD decoder?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Discussion Tyler1989 Microsoft Windows and Software 2568 05-04-2008 03:52 PM
Home Edition Troubles ChemicalMonkey Microsoft Windows and Software 34 01-20-2008 09:26 PM
AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 123 11-12-2007 02:03 AM
Confused about getting Media Center... Flame Hawk New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-25-2007 07:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.