XP media center 2005 or vista 64-bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2009, 10:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default XP media center 2005 or vista 64-bit

Please I would like your opinion.
I Have been using Vista Ultimate for the past year, I am fairly happy with it but I am kinda sick of the explorer frezzing every once in a while.

My specs:
2.4 ghz dualcore amd
4 gig of ram
700 mb video card ddr3
video capture card (not shure wich)

So how about media center 2005?
What I persive as negative is
1) not visually rich.
2) It wont let me use all my pc's potencial A) doest it really limmit my ram? does it limmit video ram?


So what would you do?

Thanks,
Fernando
__________________

fernandosaez is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: XP media center 2005 or vista 64-bit

Use vista and make sure and upgrade to sp1 if you have not yet. 32bit systems can use a total of 4gb of system and video ram and you have a total of 4.7gb so you would not use all of it.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,478
Default Re: XP media center 2005 or vista 64-bit

Why don't you just reinstall Ultimate to see if that solves your problems?

And yes, you can get a 64bit version of Ultimate (just find a download for one, or borrow a disc from somebody), and use your existing key even if you have a 32bit version right now.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 12:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: XP media center 2005 or vista 64-bit

Thanks for your answer.

Maybe I expressed myself wrond. U have Vista 64 now.
The question is xp media center 2005 vs. vista ultimate 64.

I have reinstalled vista 64 2 times in the pasta and y always update it. So I dont think it will help much. Now I am at my dads (he lives in buenos aires) and he also has a 64 bit vista machine and he has the exact same problems.

It seems you guys rather stick to vista, am I right?

Opinions?
fernandosaez is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 01:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: XP media center 2005 or vista 64-bit

Yes i would stick with Vista. XP MCE doesnt offer you anything. In fact you will be losing. You will lose up to 1GB of your resources cause 32 Bit cant use it. So the real question is can you handle having resources that your OS cant use and live with it going to waste?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 05:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: XP media center 2005 or vista 64-bit

Thanks for your answer, yea I quess the final question is if xp would be faster even do it lost a gig of ram.
Any more opinions?
fernandosaez is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 06:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: XP media center 2005 or vista 64-bit

I do most of my stuff on mce 2005. I do only some stuff on vista 64. with some things the speed of vista 64 is simply amazing. I have a quad core pro with 6 gig of ram. on some things (lot of simple thing) it acts retardedly slow while xp blazes through those same simple things. I use both. but I use mce 90% of the time. it keeps me from having computer headaches
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: XP media center 2005 or vista 64-bit

Thanks for the answer.
So that confirms some what, what I thought.

So the question is:
Does lossing 1gig of ram affect that much, especially considering that xp is faster than vista most of the time.

I heard the limmitation on xp is 3.5 gig not 3, can anyone comfirm?


Thanks...
fernandosaez is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 12:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,478
Default Re: XP media center 2005 or vista 64-bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by fernandosaez View Post
Thanks for the answer.
So that confirms some what, what I thought.

So the question is:
Does lossing 1gig of ram affect that much, especially considering that xp is faster than vista most of the time.

I heard the limmitation on xp is 3.5 gig not 3, can anyone comfirm?


Thanks...
It can vary from system to system. Depends on your hardware config and a lot of other variables. With 4x1GB sticks, my system recognizes 3.5GB; with 2x2GB, it recognizes 3GB on 32bit.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you're going to OC....64 bit Vista immy3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-23-2008 05:36 PM
Vista Ultimate 64 Bit.... Mordred Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-22-2008 10:22 PM
Windows Vista SP1 Download Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 42 03-22-2008 04:23 AM
Vista Home Premium Media Center Question db_21 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-19-2007 09:28 PM
Interested in testing the next version of Windows Media Center? Now's your chance. Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-19-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.