XP logging on user problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2004, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default XP logging on user problem

Please help!
I turned on my desktop, which runs windows XP, and got to the screen that says "to begin, click your user name" - the problem is that there are no user names to click! I tried running in safe mode and I tried to start with "last known good configuration" and anything I have done just takes me back to the same user screen that has no users. I don't know how to get anywhere to even try anything else!
Please, if anyone has any idea what I should do, please let me know. I am stuck without my desktop.
Thanks,
Diane
__________________

DianeInOz is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

at the login screen press CTRL-ALT-DEL. and enter your username and password manually. then go to user settings and see if you can change anything there
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

oops forgot... u have to press CTRL-ALT-DEL twice to get to the manual login screen.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 12:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I don't have a password set. The manual login tells me to check my domain name...
DianeInOz is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 12:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Type "Administrator" as username. Probably without password. And try to change the user options from that account.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I get the same results when I use "administrator" as the user name. I tried it when I start it normally and when I start it in safe mode.

Any other ideas to get in the back door?
DianeInOz is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 05:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 112
Default

On the login screen is there an Options button? What are you logging in to? A domain or the local machine?
__________________
Jeff Cline
MYTHLOGIC Corporation
Custom. Gaming. Computers.
<a href=\"http://www.mythlogic.com\">http://www.mythlogic.com</a>
jcline is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 09:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: XP logging on user problem

Quote:
Originally posted by DianeInOz
Please help!
I turned on my desktop, which runs windows XP, and got to the screen that says "to begin, click your user name" - the problem is that there are no user names to click! I tried running in safe mode and I tried to start with "last known good configuration" and anything I have done just takes me back to the same user screen that has no users. I don't know how to get anywhere to even try anything else!
Please, if anyone has any idea what I should do, please let me know. I am stuck without my desktop.
Thanks,
Diane
reinstall
derrmc is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 12:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 24
Default

there is software to recover this though it's needed to be run on a linux system with the windows hard drive connected as a slave try looking around the internet for a windows NT/2000/XP password crack software. it comes as an ISO you have to burn to disk. If you dont have acess to a linux machine, it's reformat time!
__________________

MrWynd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.