XP log in screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2004, 12:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 90
Question XP log in screen

Is there a way to make it so when XP boots up, the log in screen comes up with a username and no password? Basically, I want to have XP boot up and come to the login screen. Then all I have to do is click on the user name and it goes right into XP. Thanks.
__________________

godai73 is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
Default

If you don't set a password, all you have to do is either click on the user name or click on OK, depending on which version of XP. either way, setting your password to nothing should produce the 1-button result you're wanting. Just go into your control panel and go into users. enter the current password into the appropriate field (i think its marked 'old password') and leave the 'new password' field blank.
__________________

Nevermore is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Goto Control Panel ... Click on User Accounts


Now click Change the way users log on or off



Check the Use Welcome Screen checkbox... that's it ..Problem solved
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

1 - Go to contol panel
2 - Go to User Accounts
3 - Click a username
4 - Press "Remove my passoword" (Enter old password ro verify)

Repeat for every account you have
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 12:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 90
Default

Thanks guys.
godai73 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.