XP keeps shuting down. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2003, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Exclamation XP keeps shuting down.

Hi. My system keeps rebooting. I am running a 3Ghz 800Mhz FSB P4 with 2GB of dual channel DDR pc3200. the board i have is a gigabyte GA-8IK1100. im am also useing a SATA 260GB western Digital Drive.
__________________

KONQUEST is offline  
Old 11-21-2003, 12:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

please decribe your problem in more detail. is it rebooting when you try to use the internet or is it shutting down randomly? do you get a warning before it shuts down or none? is it actually shutting down or rebooting?
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-21-2003, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Default

There is no error message, it just restarts randomly. i left the computer running for a while as a test to see was i triggering this error but it still restarted. i think it may be the memory but im not really sure. i have 4 512mb DIMMs running at dual channel.
KONQUEST is offline  
Old 11-21-2003, 06:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

lets try to pinpoint where the problem is coming from. i assusme you just built this computer recently? i do not think manufactuerers like Dell, compaq, e-machines would make a computer with a gigabyte motherboard and SATA.

assuming you built this machine yourself, did you always have this problem or did it start up at sometime. most importantly, after this happens you should look in your bios to check your temps. if you are overheating than you would know that it is a cooling issue.

it really does sound like a hardware problem to me, and you could be right about the memory, what is the brand of the memory you have for your pc3200? and you have 4 identical 512MB modules correct or are they different brands?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-23-2003, 11:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to bilk23495 Send a message via Yahoo to bilk23495
Default

Hi
I was having similar problems at one time. I was getting a message that XP was shutting down in 1 min and it started countig down in seconds. It may seem obvious but it turned out that I had a virus that caused this. Every couple of minutes my computer would shut down because of an unexpected request from my hard drive. If you have a good anti virus I suggest you run a full system scan:confused
bilk23495 is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 04:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

Hi, I'm sure KONQUEST's computer has no virus because XP restarts randomly is its ... daily work . Anyone who used, is using or will use XP meet this problem.
So you don't need to concern about it.
Traudong is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 06:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I built the system myself, yes. the problem began right from the start. I am useing OCZ memory with copper heatspreaders. I don't think the memory is overheating and the cpu seems fine but it is only useing the stock intel heatsink but it dose have a copper plate and i am useing thermal paste. All the memory is identical. i got 2x 1Gb Dual channel kits.
KONQUEST is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 07:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

I told you not to concern about it. But if you want, try this:
Control Panel
-->System
-->Advanced
-->Setting (Startup and Recovery)
-->Deselect Automatically restart :bald:
Traudong is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 08:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I have the automatic restart disabeled already. it dosn't effect the problem.
KONQUEST is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 10:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Its grand. i sorted it out. no problems. just needed to flash the bios. it turns out that the 8IK1100 boards have a problem with memory. it is unable to address more than 1GB but the update sorts this out. thanks everyone*
__________________

KONQUEST is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.