XP Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2007, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Question XP Issues

I have noticed a number of problems now that I am in the 5th month or so of my computers building. In the beginning, windows worked quite well and I had very few problems from programs such as internet explorer or ‘explorer’. Now, explorer ‘freezes’ unexpectedly and I receive a different blue screens at various times. What is the cause exactly and if you need specific problems let me know.
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

Would need to know the details on the blue screens.
__________________

brrymnvette is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

The last time I blue screened, it was a physical memory dump. I feel silly now, but, really what they are attributed to and why i would have one. In one instance I was running GW and I blue screened, then after some text informing me that it will now reboot my system(to press F8 to boot in safe mode) to diagnos the/any problems. But my machine is only 5 ~ 6 months old.
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

Most likely it's due to bad, or not enough RAM
try increasing your pagefile size...

also, have you checked the system events for pre-dump errors?
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 03:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

System Events..how would i do that? And how might my Ram go bad?(on that note of errors, I have runtime errors every once and awhile when i boot unreal tournament)

specifically it says:
Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

Runtime Error!

---
This application requested the runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the applications support team for more information.

So, if my problems are hardware related, how might i properly adjust/or diagnos these problems. Along with windows issues, I noticed my motherboard pc speaker will beep. Usually when i reach higher degrees celcious or when i ALT - Tab between programs and attempt to type. usually this multitasking while typing produces a lag of sorts thats frustrating. Rebooting usually fixes the problem but i'd like something a bit more concrete.
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

start>run>"compmgmt.msc"
in the computer management window, select "event viewer"
look in the events for "application"
red is usually an indicator of bad stuff
when you have a crash, look for the timestamp just before
you'll probably notice a lot of events after, because a good number get written at startup

as for the hardware... that's another long-*** post
I see you only have one DIMM, have you reseated it?
I'd make sure it's in slot 1(closest to the processor) too.
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 01:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

alright, I will reseat the ram in the correct slot(iam pretty sure it is, but it doesn't hurt to check). Right now I have a few 'reds' (from various times and dates). Now that I have this info, what can i do to improve my performance?

Aside from that, i notice that from before my 'wireless' internet icon would boot quickly. Up until a few days ago I noticed that the actual time for my wireless connection to boot it is considerably slower. Is there any way to change this?

Should I uninstall the physical drivers for the wireless card, unplug and re-install?
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.