xp issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2005, 06:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to danny501
Default xp issue

hi, im new here. ive got this problem with a laptop. its got xp home edition. it begins to load xp but freezes before it prompts me for the password. i can still move the mouse but thats it. if you guys can help me that would be great. im looking for an alternative solution to reformatting but i will do it if its the only way. thanks.
__________________

danny501 is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

goto safemode, and check the startup... or start/run and type msconfig and then startup. Something in there is probably causing a problem. Disable all and see if it boots normal. If not, then its a driver problem. Thats assuming you CAN get to safe mode. If not, thats another issue/story.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 09:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to danny501
Default

i forgot to mention that i already tried safemode.
danny501 is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 12:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

You can try a repair install of xp as a last resort. You have to boot up with your cd before windows loads.
geekster is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 05:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

has this problem occured after you installed any new drivers / apps ? If so you should to boot using "Last Know Good Config".

When your computer shows boot menu press F8 and select the above option. If your's is not a dual boot just keep the F8 pressed when you start your computer.
Vikas is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 01:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to danny501
Default

i tried booting from the last known good config but i got the same problem.

i tried a repair install of win xp but it takes me to command prompt where it asks me for the admin pw and when i type it in im left with c:\windows\ and i dont know what to do from there.

will a rebuild fix this? i appreciate all the help guys.
danny501 is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to danny501
Default

bump..
__________________

danny501 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.