XP installation questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2004, 07:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Question XP installation questions

I recently installed XP on a new laptop. I installation seemed to go fine exept for a few minor issues. I notice when I try to change my screen resolution from 1400X1050 to anything less, I get a black frame around the new setting. Also the video card I have has (multiple monitors) next to it. I do not have multiple monitors. Help?!
__________________

justadummy is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

The reason you get a black "ring" is because you changed the resolution, but you didn't change the size of the screen. You need to "stretch" the desktop to the border of your laptop.

The "two" monitor means that your card supports video out and you could potential hook up a TV or monitor. You don't need to worry about the "second" monitor in your settings.+
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Default

I have my desktop set to stretch and I still have the ring. I noticed when I restart, it goes right back to the original resolution.
justadummy is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Send a message via AIM to yashar
Default

don't you have to "manually change it?..... if there are any buttons, use the bottons on the monitor to help get rid of the black rings.
yashar is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 09:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Default

No buttons on this laptop to 'manually change it..."
justadummy is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 03:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

I have had a same prob with my laptop. And my suggestion is downloading latest monitor driver.
Traudong is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 05:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

apply the settings then reboot to see it it will auto negotiate the new settings.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Default

The new settings don't stay. How can I find out what kind of monitor I have on my laptop?
justadummy is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

I'm using COMPAQ Evo N800v. What about yours? If you know the manufacture, you simply go to their site and find drivers for monitor.
__________________

Traudong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.