xp installation probs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2004, 02:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default xp installation probs

i am installing xp pro on a athlon xp 2200+ with asus a7n8x with a maxtor 120gb hdd.
i boot from the xp disk and format the drive, and install the files needed such as drivers. then the installation tells me to restart and it does. normally it boots the rest of the installation of the hard disk but it just says

error loading operating system

and nothing more.
please help, this is a completely new problem to me!!!!
wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-17-2004, 03:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

try taking a good-old windows 98 startup disk with F-disk on it and re-format the HD. then put the XP disk back in and see if that works.... if not, then there might be a problem with the memory where the XP disk is tyring to load all of that stuff.
__________________

__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 09-17-2004, 08:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

dont worry, i fixed it, i changed this thingo in the bios, with a bit of scrounging i found i site that about twenty people had the same prob,
thanks anyway
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-17-2004, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
dont worry, i fixed it, i changed this thingo in the bios, with a bit of scrounging i found i site that about twenty people had the same prob,
thanks anyway
what did you change in the bios?
derrmc is offline  
Old 09-17-2004, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i changed the hard drives access mode from chs to lba, as stated here
http://www.computing.net/os2/wwwboard/forum/1437.html
wayne
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-17-2004, 07:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
i changed the hard drives access mode from chs to lba, as stated here
http://www.computing.net/os2/wwwboard/forum/1437.html
wayne
oh yeah, that would work!

***************thanks**************
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.