XP install gone bad :o( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2004, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 97
Default XP install gone bad :o(

i installed XP today and when it came to loading my settings it just stopped, happens everytime on loading my settings, could not formatting disk before installing have caused this bcos i have had probs with other os,s so i didn't get rid of my win 2000...
i had a problem with mandrake 10 freezing all the time also... do you think it is hardware related or is it just that i kept old version of windows on there?
__________________

ShadowDragon is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

mandrake has no issue with what ever is installed previously. it gets installed in its own folder.

chekc out ur ram, normally RAM does brings many problems.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 97
Default

the mandrake is gone its the xp problem i need to fix. i've heard that multiple os's on same partition will cause problem but not sure if thats it... dont want to completely reformat put on xp and find it dont work and i'm left with no workin comp
ShadowDragon is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 97
Default

ok i completely reformatted pc and put on only windows XP, it still freezes starting up but it lets me on in safe mode, any ideas of what problem may be would be great
ShadowDragon is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 11:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Shadow,

I'm just learning Linux myself. But i do know that regardless of the OS, it's always a good idea to install OSes onto their own separate partitions.

When you boot into safe mode, does it correctly report the full capacity of the HDD?? The format utility does not work for a linux partition - you probably still have the Mandrake partition present on the HDD.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 12:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 178
Default

its cool, i got it working, my graphics card was messin it up, stupid XP cant recognize a simple graphics card, i had to disable it then install drivers in normal mode, thats why linux is so much better
Shadow9684 is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shadow9684
thats why linux is so much better
lol... to be honest that's the first time i've heard a pc user say Linux has more hardware compatibility than XP... lol

At any rate, i'm glad you got the problem solved.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 11:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 97
Default

actually i was referring to the freezing, linux would have told me there was a problem rather than freeze and restart all the time, except mandrake 10
__________________

ShadowDragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.