XP Install, Cannot see RAID - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2007, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 67
Default XP Install, Cannot see RAID

Hey pplz.

umm i've made a RAID 0 array and i have a problem, i think the solution isnt that difficult i just need to know if theres ways around it. I load up the windows XP pro setup from the disk, but the setup cannot se my RAID'd hard drives. is it because i need to load the drivers for it for the setup, or would is it something else. if its the drivers problem, i trried putting the drivers onto a CD but the setup cannot find them. It only looks for a set A:\ device. unfortunately i dont have a floppy drive. is it as simple as me gettin myself a FDD or is there another way around it?

lol i think what i wrote seems a it confusing. anyways cant be stuffed changing t now. its late and im tired. hope it makes sence.

Thanx in advance.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64bit Dual Core 4200+
A8N-SLI Premium
Legend 256mb 7800GTX
ThermalTake Shark Case
2GB hynix pc3200 DDR
160GB western digital SATA 7200rpm
g_booto is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: XP Install, Cannot see RAID

Yeah. You gotta get a floppy drive.
__________________

dknight1234 is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 09:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: XP Install, Cannot see RAID

If using IDE, you can install XP first then create RAID 0. If using hardware RAID, use the driver and software that came with your MB or RAID card. XP Pro can do software RAID 0 without hardware, but slower because of the additional software overhead.

If you have SATA, good luck, because the only easiest solution is to copy your RAID/SATA driver to a floppy. Try searching for it on the MB CD or Manufacture site.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 08:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 67
Default Re: XP Install, Cannot see RAID

thanks fella's.

yeah guess i gotta go get a floppy drive then. there only what $30 ? (AUD)

thanks for ya help. i just wanted to make sure b4 i even spent just a lil bit of money.

peace.
__________________
AMD 64bit Dual Core 4200+
A8N-SLI Premium
Legend 256mb 7800GTX
ThermalTake Shark Case
2GB hynix pc3200 DDR
160GB western digital SATA 7200rpm
g_booto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC6_64 install bug need help gohand Linux and Open Source 7 03-31-2007 11:34 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.