XP Icon Text Loses Transparency - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2008, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Question XP Icon Text Loses Transparency

One of my XP machines, the MacBook, suddenly changed the icon appearance on the desktop to have solid backdrops to the text last night. This is annoying. I've checked the performance settings, and Drop Shadows is checked, and un-checking/re-checking it doesn't do anything. Something else is causing this odd behavior, and I don't know what. Any ideas of how I could fix it?

I tried unloading WindowBlinds, switching themes and appearance settings in Windows, disabling and re-enabling all visual settings, etc... the only thing that changes is that with WindowBlinds settings in place, the background to the text is grey, while with the default Windows settings, it's blue.

Windows XP Pro SP2
2.2GHz C2D T7500 MacBook with 1 GB RAM, running BootCamp.
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: XP Icon Text Loses Transparency

Do you have the correct video card drivers working?
__________________

forrestcupp is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 63
Default Re: XP Icon Text Loses Transparency

This may sound a little odd, but right click on your desktop, go to Arrange Icons By, and make sure that Lock Web Items on Desktop is UN-checked.

Edit: Also an FYI, if you have Web Content on the desktop, transparency doesn't seem to work. So uncheck all of the boxes under Properties, Desktop, Customize, Web.
__________________
The Emperor
The Tech Empire
TheEmperor is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: XP Icon Text Loses Transparency

Quote:
Originally Posted by forrestcupp View Post
Do you have the correct video card drivers working?
It's a MacBook. There's only one set of drivers available, so I have to assume it's the right one. It was working fine until last night.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEmperor
This may sound a little odd, but right click on your desktop, go to Arrange Icons By, and make sure that Lock Web Items on Desktop is UN-checked.

Edit: Also an FYI, if you have Web Content on the desktop, transparency doesn't seem to work. So uncheck all of the boxes under Properties, Desktop, Customize, Web.
I read about that in google and have tried it already. It wasn't checked.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 09:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: XP Icon Text Loses Transparency

This issue could be related to the fact it is on a MacBook. As TheEmperor has already pointed out the correct way to fix this on a PC.

As i said in another thread. Try the TweakUI powertoy for Windows XP. Maybe rebuilding the Icon Cache will fix this. If not then i would wager to guess you are out of luck being on a MacBook and not having the extensive driver database available to you.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 09:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
coldcheeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 50
Default Re: XP Icon Text Loses Transparency

What about trying to trying to restore to an earlier point?
coldcheeks is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 09:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Send a message via MSN to Flyguy35 Send a message via Yahoo to Flyguy35
Default Re: XP Icon Text Loses Transparency

Oddly enough this happened to me a while back on my PC. Although it is not a MacBook, maybe the same solution might apply.
The memory (DDR2 667) was unstable, but not unstable enough to show any clear enough signs to prove its actually a memory problem.
However i managed to get it changed under hardware warranty, and the icons never showed any issues after that.
Flyguy35 is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 02:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: XP Icon Text Loses Transparency

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
This issue could be related to the fact it is on a MacBook. As TheEmperor has already pointed out the correct way to fix this on a PC.

As i said in another thread. Try the TweakUI powertoy for Windows XP. Maybe rebuilding the Icon Cache will fix this. If not then i would wager to guess you are out of luck being on a MacBook and not having the extensive driver database available to you.
As I said no fewer than two times already in this thread, it was working fine until just the other night. Therefore, we can conclusively rule out it being at all related to the fact that it's a MacBook. Laptop hardware does not change overnight without me knowing about it, and neither did the drivers.

TheEmperor pointed out the incorrect way of fixing it on Windows, which happens to work anyway in a few rare cases, due to the fact that Windows is full of bugs like that. It's nothing but a bug workaround method. So it would be unreasonable to assume that there are no other bugs or potential causes and ways of working around them.

I'll give TweakUI a poke as soon as I boot back into Windows... for now it's running Leopard to stress test the CPU under the latest beta GROMACS UNIX core, since there's some suspicion that the CPU may be encountering some ambiguity errors due to the extreme operating temperature which are causing work units to fail.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 02:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: XP Icon Text Loses Transparency

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyguy35 View Post
Oddly enough this happened to me a while back on my PC. Although it is not a MacBook, maybe the same solution might apply.
The memory (DDR2 667) was unstable, but not unstable enough to show any clear enough signs to prove its actually a memory problem.
However i managed to get it changed under hardware warranty, and the icons never showed any issues after that.
That's probably the most helpful thing I've read so far, as it establishes the distinct possibility of a link between overstressed hardware and the bug. If unstable RAM could do it, an overheated or unstable CPU could do it too.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 08:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: XP Icon Text Loses Transparency

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cunjo View Post
As I said no fewer than two times already in this thread, it was working fine until just the other night. Therefore, we can conclusively rule out it being at all related to the fact that it's a MacBook. Laptop hardware does not change overnight without me knowing about it, and neither did the drivers.

TheEmperor pointed out the incorrect way of fixing it on Windows, which happens to work anyway in a few rare cases, due to the fact that Windows is full of bugs like that. It's nothing but a bug workaround method. So it would be unreasonable to assume that there are no other bugs or potential causes and ways of working around them.

I'll give TweakUI a poke as soon as I boot back into Windows... for now it's running Leopard to stress test the CPU under the latest beta GROMACS UNIX core, since there's some suspicion that the CPU may be encountering some ambiguity errors due to the extreme operating temperature which are causing work units to fail.
:laughing:

Apparently you have not seen the amount of bug fixes in OSX compared to Windows lately. OS X is the MOST fixed OS for the past 6 months. So please step down off the pedistal and watch your step while you do it. For OS Xis not that much better than Windows anymore. Get over it.

As for your comment....

It can be because of the MacBook. Lets follow the logic. IT may have been working but since this is hardware that DO NOT have drivers specifically written for it by Microsoft NOR the decive manufacturers there is no telling how Windows will react to anything. It can be as simple as installing a piece of software that break it.

This is the same situation as hacking OS X on to a PC. It will NOT react the way it should cause it is not VERIFIED for that system.

So now will you TRY to listen to the suggestions? You can always go to InsanelyMac Forums to get your answers. I am sure they know everything about Windows.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Text encryption tools White_Wolf Off Topic Discussion 4 01-13-2008 09:34 AM
Send Text Messages From your PC. KCRMYZ New Technology and Products 0 08-16-2007 05:40 PM
Not the final option objecterror Web Graphics and Design 2 07-22-2007 03:14 PM
using one text box for different variables (php) zach014 Programming 2 07-11-2007 10:30 PM
Hard drive icon has changed. How do I fix it? ingeborgdot Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-04-2007 09:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.