XP Home - XP64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2005, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default XP Home - XP64

If i buy the 88 dollar XPHome OEM package, how much would i cost to upgrade to XP64 (if possible) later down the road?

And if i bought the OEM package would that make a difference, or would I need the retail box.
__________________

sharpobjectss is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 07:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

i dont mean to be a pain, but i plan on ordering some things tonight and I dont know if i should go with the XP Home or XP64 processor. If i can upgrade from HOME to XP64 later then that is the road i will take, does anyone know if this is possible?
__________________

sharpobjectss is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I think you can't do that with the OEM version - I'm not sure.

You don't want XP 64 any way. Wait until Microsoft Vista comes out.
turtile is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 10:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Windows x64 is a Professional version, so I doubt you could 'upgrade', if by that you mean trading in the license for free.

You cannot 'upgrade' from any previous version OS to Windows x64, for your information. It has to be a fresh install.

Also, Windows x64 is a perfectly stable and great OS to use on a daily basis, which I do. So, it isn't something that you "wouldn't want anyway."
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default

You can only trade for XP64 if you have a XP Pro already. It can be OEM or retail. But yeah, you'd probably want to wait for Windows Vista, since Microsoft has spent over 5 years developing it, while I'm not that sure about XP 64. Also, finding 64-bit drivers might be a hassle. You may want to try the trail version of XP 64 to test for compatibility.

Hope this helps!
strategist333 is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 11:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Wait for Vista. Now is not really a good time to get a 2K or XP OS.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 12:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

thanks for all the help, im going to keep my older version of windows and wait for vista which i believe i saw the release date at like 2006 or some such, could be wrong, oh well. thanks again
sharpobjectss is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 12:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Yup 2006.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 05:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Uh, XP Pro x64 is just Server 2003 recompiled for 64 bit, essentially.

There was plenty of development in that kernel, and it is rock solid stable.
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.