XP Home to XP Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2008, 03:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default XP Home to XP Pro

Anybody actually done this upgrade? I don't have a step up disk but I do have a full XP Pro. I have read several google entries on this and they all were fairly old so I'm not sure if the advice is still reliable. They referred to SP1 a lot. However, I have a user that needs this upgrade and of course doesn't want to lose any data. I have read about extracurricular activities that supposedly can be done to the home version and then burn a enw pro version, but I ain't going through all that if I can just pop in my Pro CD and do a straight upgrade.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 03:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: XP Home to XP Pro

if you pop the disc in from the xp home desktop and it gives you an option to upg...you're good to go (which it should)

key being from the desktop, not booting with the disc in and optical as boot

edit: looking more on this...some sources are saying you can't do this at all...home to pro...let's see what I can find

this from majorgeeks forum post:
"...welcome to Major Geeks. I'm afraid you can't 'upgrade' from XP home to XP pro - period"

this from microsoft (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/292607):
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Windows XP Professional Retail (Full) Version
Windows XP Professional Upgrade Version

the top is the start...the bottom entries are your upgrade paths

I would think the Microsoft answer is the definitive...now all you have to worry about is if XXX driver will be included in the driver library of the disc you are using
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: XP Home to XP Pro

Thanks. I'll see if she wants to pay the $$.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 06:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: XP Home to XP Pro

why do she want the upgrade?

I remember osirous (warez monster) posted a link about making a home version of xp, pro. this was about 3-4 years ago though
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 07:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: XP Home to XP Pro

She has a laptop that she will use to connect using VPN to work. I need to install an app that will not work on XP Home. I have read about some hacks and cracks, but I really don't think either of us wants to go that route.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: XP Home to XP Pro

i have a hack for media center. it might work for home. it opens up that remote connection stuff

from my how to join a domain post



Insert Windows XP CD.
Start > Run > X:\i386\winnt32.exe /cmdcons
(replace X: with the appropiate drive letter)
Acknowledge prompt by clicking 'Yes'.
Skip updating process by clicking 'Cancel' or by pressing 'Esc'
After installation, acknowledge success msg. by clicking 'Ok'
Start > Shutdown > Restart
At boot menu, select 'Microsoft Windows Recovery Console'
Select proper installation to log onto (default: 1) and press 'Enter'
(If prompted, enter Administrator password and press 'Enter')
Type (without quotes) and press enter: 'cd system32\config'
Type (without quotes) and press enter: 'copy SYSTEM C:'
Type (without quotes) and press enter: exit
At boot menu, select 'Windows XP Media Center Edition'

Start > Run > Type: 'regedit' and press enter
Click on 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE'.
File > Load Hive...
Browse and select C:\SYSTEM
Specify key name 'BANANA' and click OK
Expand: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > BANANA > WPA > MedCtrUpg
On the right-hand side, double-click IsLegacyMCE value
Change selected value to 1 and click Ok. (THAT IS NOT AN L!)
Click on BANANA subkey (under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE).
File > Unload Hive. Confirm.
Start > Shutdown > Restart
At boot menu, select 'Microsoft Windows Recovery Console'

Select proper installation to log onto (default: 1) and press 'Enter'
(If prompted, enter Administrator password and press 'Enter')
Type (without quotes) and press enter: 'cd '
Type (without quotes) and press enter: 'copy SYSTEM C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM'
(Yes, you want to overwrite - Go ahead and do it)
Type (without quotes) and press enter: 'del SYSTEM'
Type (without quotes) and press enter: 'exit'
At boot menu, select 'Windows XP Media Center Edition'
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Lost audio after downgrading from Vista Home to XP Pro gnkcirtap Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-06-2008 12:55 AM
xp pro, and vista home basic Norcent Microsoft Windows and Software 28 01-06-2008 03:08 PM
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.