xp home update problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2005, 08:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Unhappy xp home update problems

hey, ive had xp home running fine up until now. the update icon came up in the task bar and so i installed the updates, restarted, and then the pc wouldnt boot at all saying there was a problem with ntdll.dll. I downloaded the dll and replaced it but now whenever i go into xp my user acount is passworded, and so is the admin acount. Neither of which i set a password for.......HELP!!!!!
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 09:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

How did you replace the ntdll.dll file? Perhaps you replaced it with an incorrect version, maybe an older incompatible version. This could be likely, especially if you've applied a service pack.

Does this occur in Safe Mode?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 10:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Default

ok, well i replaced it with one i downloaded from a website. It does the same in safe mode..........and thats it. I used the windows recovery console to do it. Where can i find out which version of the file i need? my pc is 64bit?
__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.