XP Home/Pro Difference? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2004, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default XP Home/Pro Difference?

I am just wondering what the massive difference is between Windows XP Professional and Windows XP Home Edition?

Is it that Home Edition doesn't support RAID, Networking or other advanced configurations?

[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 09:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to graffitirebel

there are more advanced configurations that are possible for user accounts.... besides just administrator account and limited account. i'm sure there's other stuff, but this is what i know of. For example, you can't have Power Users in XP Home.

graffitirebel is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 11:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
HoLoCroN's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305

The two most significant differeces are 1)XP Pro CAN be part of a domain while XP Home CANT.
2)XP Pro can use the remote desktop connection to remote control other computers.. while XP Home can ONLY BE REMOTE CONTROLLED.

Good Stuff huh..
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 12:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

I prefer to use XP Pro as I is a lot less stuborn when it comes down to changing from one network to another.

It's a real pain Xp Home disides that it's like one network, and does what to connect to a new network.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 01:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415

Originally posted by HoLoCroN

2)XP Pro can use the remote desktop connection to remote control other computers.. while XP Home can ONLY BE REMOTE CONTROLLED.
i just use netmeetings remote desktop to get around the not being able to control other pc's
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 01:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

ive heard XP Pro is more stable
and I know there are more features and more editability in Pro
I'd really like to use thinks like services.msc but i can't because ive got XP Home
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 04:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 7

I can tell you from working on many XP Pro and HOme systems, Pro is definately more stable than home. The home PC's I have come across eventually all have problems with drivers specifically video, USB and sound drivers. These incompatabilities usually cause the PC to boot to a completely black screen and then from that point on, take your shoes off honey because your going to be there for a while.
joeline is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 11:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 98

XP pro also has built in cd-burning....
If I\'m curt with you, it\'s because time is a factor. I think fast. I talk fast. And, I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please with sugar on top, clean the fu**ing car- Winston Wolf, Pulp Fiction
wansingct is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 01:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617

so does xp home cd-burning
AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD

Lobos is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 07:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to blankbandit

xp home doesn't support dynamic disks either

blankbandit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.