XP hangs on loading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2006, 01:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default XP hangs on loading

So. I went to reboot my computer the other day, everything was fine, but now it wont start, it just stays at the Windows XP Loading screen with the little blue bar going back and forth, it will do this for hours without loading, so I know I have given it plenty of time to load if it really wanted to.

Sometimes before it would randomly take a real long time to load but it would always load eventually after a few minutes but this time it wont load at all, just sits there forever untill I manually turn the computer off. It will load in Safe Mode so I dont think Windows is too messed up, even thou it should be fine because I wasnt even messing with it before this happened.

The problem is I dont have a Windows XP Pro disc to try and repair the install. When I bought the computer they sent me a Windows XP Home disc instead of XP Pro like I ordered, and Iv never gotten arround to having them send me the right disc, but they did send the computer with Pro installed. Will an XP Home disc work to repair an install of XP Pro?

Is there any way I can try to fix it without having the XP Pro disc to do a repair install? It would make more sense if I had just installed something or was messing arround with files and THEN it decided not to boot, but when it just randomly dose this I have no idea what to try and look for to fix. Im pretty sure its not a spyware or virus problem because I havnt had any spyware or viruses on this computer since I got it, I dont really surf the net that much.

Any ideas on how to fix this would be greatly appreciated. I emailed the company that I bought the comp from about getting the right XP CD so Im waiting to hear on that.

PS. Since I know someones gona say it.. I did try doing a search on this but I couldnt really find anything that matched my situation and couldnt really find much info besides everyone saying to either reformat or do a repair install. I dont think the problem can really be that serious since I wasnt even messing with anything before this happened.

Tro1086 is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 10:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris


Repair install

or use F8 last known good config

Osiris is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique

Have you tried using System Restore?

dipique is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.