xp format - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2004, 08:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

i made it bootable, but there was no option for me to reformat my hard drive. i just took a boot disk ( 98 i think, it was lying around lol) plopped it in and used fdisk.
__________________

__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 04:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

When you boot up, you select the option install XP. In the next options, you will have the options to erase old partitions, format disk and partition disk. Then you can install your OS
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 10:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Oddsk8er
Default

Unless there is another setting in the bios I don't know about, it's gotta be something wrong with my computer. I have attempted to install XP many times. The cd rom drive is always the first boot device when I try to install XP. But it never starts. When my friend needed to install his OS, I wanted to try out my copy of XP on his computer just because I knew that XP is supposed to be bootable from the CD. It worked fine... Just doesn't work for me.
__________________

Oddsk8er is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.