XP On External HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2005, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default XP On External HD

I wanted to know.. how would I install Windows XP on my External Hard drive? It's a Maxtor Personal Storage 3100 100GB.
__________________

__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 04:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you would have to find bios that would boot from your usb port
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 10:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default

My bios does support it. I checked and it said "USB HDD" which means USB Hard Disk Drive. I ued Acronis Easy Migrate. I copied partition C (the HD in my laptop) to my External which I believe is E. I booted up from the External and I got a blue screen error and it comes on for about 1/2 second, and it restarts. It does the same thing over and over again. What am I doing wrong???
__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 10:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

try copying your usb hard driver driver to floppy and try to install it as a sata hard drive, which is hitting f6 upon booting from the xp cd and loading the floppy when it ask you
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 11:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default

There's only one problem. I don't have a floppy drive. I have a CD-RW/DVD-Rom drive on my laptop. So... yeah..is there anything else I can try?
__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.