XP Crashes, maybe? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2005, 10:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Angry XP Crashes, maybe?

I'm running Xp Pro SP2 on an hp a305w. Nothing exists of the former OS. I've had this problem with the HP OS that was on the computer before though.

The computer will infrequently (like once a week or so) just turn off and restart. Then it is unable to find the OS for about 5 to 10 retries, occasionally there have been more than that to get it back up.

Any suggestions?
__________________

Psychonavigator is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Soundmaster2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 190
Default

Maybe a loose power cable on the hard drive. I have the same problem because my hard drives are outside my case right now and some times the power cable comes loose and it has problems finding the os when i start up.
__________________

Soundmaster2.0 is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 12:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Update your virus scanner, etc and do a scan.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 05:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

computer isn't powerful enough for xp therefore, reboots because there is low memory availabel.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 02:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
computer isn't powerful enough for xp therefore, reboots because there is low memory availabel.
I dont know how you came to that conclusion. The model in question is very similar to the computer in your sig, and you also have XP.

Not to mention this thread is dead by now.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 03:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to gideonsx Send a message via Yahoo to gideonsx
Default

I had the same problem with my HP...just a thought...check to see if the fans are working, my problem was overheating...but other than that...it make just be XP may be too powerful for that computer
gideonsx is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 03:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

how much ram you have?? suggested 512 atleast for xp
Static_11 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 06:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Your harddrive might be giving out on you also..
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.