XP Crashes game - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2003, 07:10 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

been there done that.
__________________

__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 12:12 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

XP Home or PRO?
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 05:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

xp home

Will this make a difference?
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 10:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

definately, Home has so many many more things going on in the backround
__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 10-11-2003, 03:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

So what are you saying?

Do I need xp pro?
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-11-2003, 05:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

XP Home has MORE background services than XP Pro? Please explain..
roho is offline  
Old 10-11-2003, 05:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yeah i would have to agree, playing a game that works on pro should work on home.

home really has more services than pro running microsoftne? it should still work the same as pro nevertheless i would think.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.