XP Crashes game - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2003, 11:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default XP Crashes game

Brief History:-

My PC worked fine. I buy a new game, Rally Sport Challenge.
It plays then crashes. I figure I need a Sound Blaster card.
I Bought one, Installed it and hey presto.. Problem fixed.

Days later I went to play Favourite my game (empire Earth), this plays for a while then crashes, either to desk top or to a system reboot.

Various people suggest that it is a driver issue.
So I down load the latest drivers installed them. Still no good. I try using XP's Compatability mode, still no good, I also tried formatting pc no good.

I rang the tech support line. After some suggestions (drivers etc) they gave up as the game is not listed as XP compatable on the box.

To my mind it had worked, so it should work. any ideas. This is very frustrating.

Latest attempt resulted in a memory error, some thing like tried writing to oxobf67400 and failed?

Things seem to be going from bad to worse.
Attached Images
File Type: gif 3.gif (47.5 KB, 28 views)
__________________

__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 09-11-2003, 08:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Do you have the latest Sound Blaster Drivers?
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 09-12-2003, 03:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

no,

will try it and let you know.
It will be a whlie as I work friday to Sunday.

Thanks
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 08:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

I have tried the latest drivers for my graphics card and sound blaster.
Still no good.
I tried removing SB hardware and software.
I don't know what to do about 4in1 via's?
I will probably panic and buy a new graphics card as suggested by Stealle.
Could it be my card does not support direct draw 9?
how do I get back to an earlier version of direct draw?
I have 8.1 with the game (empire earth).
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 07:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

Thanks for the pm.

I will try another graphics card first as its easier than a OS reinstall. I may just have to get used to the idea that I can't play Empire earth on the pc. I still have it working on the laptop.
Thanks for helping.
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 02:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

tried a new graphics card. Same result.
reformatted with sound card and modem removed.
This worked for a while longer (45mins) then crashed.
maybe a heat thing.
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 03:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

ok.
Thought I would "air" the thought.
I will leave it on the shelf...Sniff
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 03:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no i don't think its a compatability problem with XP. i would suspect it is a hardware compatabiliy with his old motherboard. clem i bet your notebook is much newer than your desktop hardware which is why the game works on it?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 03:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

true.

But this too now boms out.
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 05:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

My guess is either overheating OR you have the sound acceletaion turned up to high in DirectX (type 'DXdiag' into Run go to the Sound tab and lower the acceleration) making the video/sound go out of synch and screwing up the cpu/memory
__________________

roho is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.