XP Compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2003, 11:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to TSN_Shawn
Default XP Compatibility

I've been trying to work out this problem for months, but haven't had any luck. Before trying to install Windows XP Pro I always run the system check. Everytime when the check is finished there is a conflict with my display adapters. I am using a GeForce4 Xtasy ti4200 128MB video card. I have been to the nvidia site and have downloaded the latest and greatest drivers for Windows 98se (My current OS) but still no good. So I just end up trying to install XP anyways. Well everything goes good, I tell it what kind of install I want, enter my product key, it does its thing and then restarts. It's during this time when my PC just goes blank. My system reboots and shows the XP splash screen, but before the little indicator bar gets a chance to make it across even once, the screen goes black and the computer doesn't respond.

PC Specs:
AMD Athlon 900MHz
ABIT KT7-RAID Motherboard
320MB PC100 Memory
60gig 7200rpm HD
GeForce4 Xtasy ti4200 128MB AGP 4x Video card
Audigy X-Gamer

Please guys, seriously some help would be greatly appreciated and awarded anyway I can.

-Shawn from Maryland
AIM - hippy4president
ICQ - 165980473

TSN_Shawn is offline  
Old 03-22-2003, 07:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828

Of Course...if you want to do a clean install it will cost more money for the disk because its like $100 for the Upgrade and like $200 for the full install. <-Is that what you mean by clean install? I'm not sure why it would go blank (black) even if the video card was messed up because you should still get the Welcome and everything but just some wacked out colors. MicroBell sounds about right so go with his idea(s)

3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 08-06-2003, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1
Default same problem

I'm having the exact, exact same problem.
fxgb512 is offline  
Old 08-09-2003, 04:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

Originally posted by Slam'n Systems
Of Course...if you want to do a clean install it will cost more money for the disk because its like $100 for the Upgrade and like $200 for the full install.
Not necessarly, if you have an upgrade CD you can just go to install then it will prompt for a previous windows install CD. when it's verified that you have a previous OS it will ask to put back in the XP CD then install

when you got drivers for the video card why didn't you get drivers for XP?
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-09-2003, 05:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268

OK, when installing XP it is a good idea to use an old low powered gfx card, PCI if possible and swap it out when the install is complete. Xp doesn't carry an infinite amount of drivers and the more modern the card the less the likelyhood of xp finding a driver........

Also when installing XP you want as few components as possible installed, so remove all cards (especially sound and network cards) except for gfx and modem and ensure things like printers and scanners are not connected.

Doing this will take a massive strain off of the install process as XP is not trying to sort out IRQ's and drivers.

Another trick is to lower the FSB speed slighty and have memory timings on safe. Of course this is not true on ALL installs but if your having problems installing XP its the way to go as even if you do manage to install it, the odds are it will be unstable/ corrupted so you will end up doing yet another install.............

roho is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.